Mayoral Staff

To contact the Mayor's Office by phone please dial 260-748-7070.

  1. Steve McMichael

    Steve McMichael


    Steven S. McMichael took office as the seventh Mayor of New Haven on January 1st, 2020. 

    Prior to being elected Mayor, Steve served as City Councilman for New Haven's 5th District and served as City Council President.  He has also served as President of the Adams Township Advisory Board.

    While serving on City Council Steve worked with neighborhood associations to build better neighborhoods, he has been a proven fiscal conservative and has worked as a steward of the taxpayer's money. Steve is helping pave the way to the future today for future generations of New Haven residents.

    Steve is a 1984 graduate of Bishop Luers and attended Ivy Tech, IPFW and Troyer Real Estate School.He married Judy (Hanni) McMichael (a New Haven High School '86 grad) over 30 Years ago at New Haven's Emanuel Lutheran Church. Steve and Judy have two beautiful daughters Kailin and Alyssa who live in New Haven and their dachshund-beagle mix, Zelda. 

    As a local, small business owner, and former Chair of the New Haven Chamber of Commerce: Steve knows the challenges and obstacles facing businesses.  Steve also has extensive experience in Board Governance and has been participated as both an instructor and panelist on governance issues. Steve served many years as a Neighborhood Association President and is a Trustee for an area REMC.


    Steve is a long time volunteer and advocate for home buyer education through Pathfinder Services, a local Non-Profit, and has served on the Board of Zoning Appeals, Economic Development Commission, Redevelopment Commission, Tree Commission and various city adhoc committees. Steve also was one of the 3 founders of the New Haven Community Foundation and lead the I Love New Haven lighting project.

    When not working, or volunteering Steve enjoys spending time with his family, camping, relaxing on the back patio, trips to Disney World and traveling.

  1. DebAnne Smith

    DebAnne Smith

    Mayor’s Executive Assistant